According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention over 3,000 teenagers were killed in automobile accidents in the United States in 2009.  That same year more than 350,000 teenagers were treated in emergency rooms for injuries suffered in motor vehicle crashes.  A 16 year old’s risk of being injured or killed in a car crash is reduced by almost 40% by comprehensive graduated driver’s licensing programs.  These programs delay full licensing of teens and allow them to learn to drive in low risk conditions.

The State of South Carolina utilizes this program.  To obtain a learner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years old and provide your birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency, and insurance information.  If you are under the age of 18, a parent or legal guardian must come with you to sign the application.  You must also pass a vision and knowledge test.

South Carolina also places restrictions on the use of your learner’s permit.  Teens with their learner’s permit may:

  1. Drive from 6 a.m. -12 a.m. with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old with 1 year driving experience.  He or she must sit in the front seat beside you at all times.
  2. Between 12 a.m. and 6 a.m. you may only drive with a parent or legal guardian.
  3. You must have your permit for 180 days (6 months) before you apply for a driver’s license.
  4. If you are under 17 years old you must complete a driver’s education course, consisting of 8 hours of classroom time and 6 hours behind the wheel, before you may apply for a driver’s license.
  5. If you are under 18 years old, you must practice driving with a parent or legal guardian for at least 40 hours, including 10 hours of driving in darkness, before you may apply for a driver’s license.

Georgia’s program doesn’t have as many restrictions for teen drivers.  In order to obtain a learner’s permit, you must:

  1. Be at least 15 years old and a parent or legal guardian, with a Georgia driver’s license or ID card, must be present to sign application.
  2. You must bring your birth certificate, social security number, and a Georgia Department of Driver Services Certificate of Attendance that must be signed and notarized by your school.
  3. You must pass a vision test and a 2 part knowledge exam.
  4. You may drive only with a licensed driver, who is at least 21 years old, who must always be in the front seat beside you la belgique et le viagra.
  5. You must also complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice, with 6 hours being in the dark, in order to apply for a driver’s license. (Georgia DDS)

South Carolina and Georgia have taken steps to help protect teen drivers.  You can take steps too, which will also help lower your insurance.  Drive a safe car!  It’s that easy.  Check for safety ratings at the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.  Many insurance companies offer special classes for teen drivers to help lower your insurance.  These classes range from further knowledge tests, to videos and presentations on the dangers of drinking and driving or texting while driving.

Please contact the Kerr Law Firm if you have any questions concerning teen drivers in South Carolina or Georgia, at 843-785-3330.  You may also email us at info@kerrlf.com.