According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for 5-34 year olds in the United States. Wearing a seatbelt can help reduce serious injury and death by up to 50 percent. More and more states are requiring people to buckle-up. It is important to know your state’s laws regarding seatbelts and child restraint systems.
Georgia Code 40-8-76 deals with child safety restraints. Any child under the age of 8, riding in a motor vehicle on public roads, streets, or highways, must be in the proper child passenger restraining system appropriate for such child’s height and weight that is approved by the US Department of Transportation.
First violation of the above law results in a fine no more than $50.00. If the child is 6 or 7 years old, the defendant may buy and install a proper restraining system after the offense but before the court appearance and have the fine waived or suspended. A second conviction results in a fine no more than $100.00. No court may impose additional fees or surcharges. This violation does not constitute negligence and your insurance company may not drop you or increase your insurance rates.
Georgia Code 40-8-76.1 handles seatbelts. Each occupant of the front seat must wear a safety belt while riding in a motor vehicle on public roads, streets, or highways. A fine of no more than $15.00 may be imposed for a violation. Minors 8 years or older must wear a seatbelt or the driver may be fined no more than $25.00. Probable cause is based solely on the law enforcement officer’s clear and unobstructed view of the person not properly restrained.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident, please contact the Kerr Law Firm at 1-800-350-2990 or locally at 1-843-785-3330. You may also email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. We would be happy to offer you a free consultation.